Texas Calls for Child Safety Award Nominations

THHS | October 12, 2016

AUSTIN – The Texas Office for Prevention of Developmental Disabilities is seeking nominations for the sixth annual J.C. Montgomery Jr. Child Safety Awards.

Up to 10 awards will be given to honor people and organizations committed to improving children’s lives through work in child safety and injury prevention. Award categories include individual, organization and youth.

The submission deadline is Oct. 31.

The award is named in honor of J.C. Montgomery Jr. of the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children in Dallas for his dedication to the safety and well-being of children in the hospital for more than 23 years.

child-safetyPast award winners include researchers, first responders, educators and policy makers such as Texas Sen. Judith Zaffirini. Awardees have taken on a variety of issues, including bike and road safety, child drownings and child endangerment.

Awardees will be honored at a ceremony at the Texas State Capitol Dec. 6, with support from Texas Sen. Troy Fraser who has long been involved in the program.

For more information, including the nomination form and award criteria, please click here.

The Texas Office for Prevention of Developmental Disabilities is a program administratively attached to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Charles Smith, Executive Commissioner


Carrie Williams, 512-424-6951